Scott Allen Architecture(206) 780-1122

Offices in Seattle & Bainbridge Island, WA | Serving clients worldwide
National A.I.A. Firm of Year Award for 2009

During Scott Allen’s leadership as Managing Principal of  Olson Sundberg Kundig Allen Architects, the firm was awarded the 2009 National Firm of the Year by the American Institute of Architects.

Olsen Sundberg Kundig Allen Architects Receives 2009 AIA Architecture Firm Award

Firm noted for its commitment to sustainable design

The American Institute of Architects (AIA) Board of Directors (BOD) voted today for Olson Sundberg Kundig Allen Architects to receive the 2009 AIA Architecture Firm Award. The distinction is based on its 35 years of consistently excellent work, including its seamless blending of architecture, art and craft; community involvement; attention to sustainable design; and nurturing of in-house talent.

The AIA Architectural Firm Award, given annually, is the highest honor the AIA bestows on an architecture firm and recognizes a practice that consistently has produced distinguished architecture for at least 10 years.

Partners Jim Olson; Rick Sundberg, FAIA, Tom Kundig, FAIA’ and Scott Allen, AIA, all graduates of the University of Washington, are known for their hands-on project involvement; deliberate efforts to share their knowledge with firm members, students, interns and clients; an intense collaboration with artists and crafters.

The firm’s commitment to sustainable design finds its roots win the firm Olsen founded in Seattle in 1971, which he based on two principles: buildings can serve a s bridge between nature and culture, and inspiring surroundings have a positive effect on people’s lives. Carrying that concept into the firm, the principals remain committed to a democratic and populist office culture.

Known primarily for their integrating of Modern forms that blend artfully into remote, natural settings of the Pacific Northwest, the firm’s work is also adept at creating dynamic urban environments.

“Their residential work in particular reveals a fascination with craft and the material properties of architecture,” wrote Mark Robbins, dean of the Syracuse University School of Architecture in a recommendation letter. “Levers, racks, gears, out-sized hinges, and wall-size shutters improbably glide into place to frame sublime natural vistas. The dual American obsession of industry and nature are summed up immaculately in the smallest folly.”

Among more than 65 regional and national awards winners are:

  • The Delta Shelter, Washington Sate, 2008 AIA National Honor Award
  • The Brain, Seattle, 2004 AIA National Honor Award
  • Chicken Point Cabin, Northern Idaho, 2003 AIA Northwest Region Honor Award
  • Frye Art Museum, Seattle, 1997 AIA Seattle Honor Award
  • Pike & Virginia Building, Seattle 1979 AIA Seattle Honor Award

Olson Sundberg Kundig Allen Architects will be presented with the Firm Award during the American Architectural Foundation’s Accent on Architecture Gala in February. Previous recipients include Leers Weinzapfel, Moore Ruble Yudell, Murphy/Jahn, and KieranTimberlake. In recognition of Olson Sundberg Kundig Allen Architects legacy to architecture, their name will be chiseled into the granite Wall of Honor in the lobby of the AIA headquarters in Washington, D.C.

About the American Institute of Architects

For over 150 years, members of the American Institute of Architects have worked with each other and their communities to create more valuable, healthy, secure and sustainable buildings and cityscapes. By using sustainable design practices, materials and techniques, AIA architects are uniquely poised to provide the leadership and guidance needed to provide solutions to address climate change. AIA architects walk he walk on sustainable design. Visit